BAFTA Film Awards 2021: The full list of nominations

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts has announced its 2021 Film Awards shortlist, with movies Nomadland and Rocks leading the way with seven nominations each.

For the first time in BAFTA history four women have made it into the best director category – in sharp contrast to last year when there were no women up for best director or best film.

There is also a much more diverse list of nominees in the main acting categories, following a diversity push following criticism of 2020’s all-white performer shortlists.

Here are all of this year’s BAFTA nominees:

Best Film

The Father
The Mauritanian
Promising Young Woman
The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Outstanding British Film

Calm With Horses
The Dig
The Father
His House
The Mauritanian
Mogul Mowgli
Promising Young Woman
Saint Maud

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

His House – Remi Weekes (writer/director)
Limbo – Ben Sharrock (writer/director), Irune Gurtubai (producer)
Moffie – Jack Sidey (writer/producer)
Rocks – Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson (writers)
Saint Maud – Rose Glass (writer/director), Oliver Kassman (producer)

Film Not in the English Language

Another Round
Dear Comrades!
Les Miserables
Quo Vadis, Aida?


David Attenborough: A Life On Our Planet
The Dissident
My Octopus Teacher
The Social Dilemma

Animated Film



Another Round – Thomas Vinterberg
Babyteeth – Shannon Murphy
Minari – Lee Isaac Chung
Nomadland – Chloe Zhao
Quo Vadis, Aida? – Jasmila Zbanic
Rocks – Sarah Gavron

Original Screenplay

Another Round – Tobias Lindholm, Thomas Vinterberg
Mank – Jack Fincher
Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell
Rocks – Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson
The Trial Of The Chicago 7 – Aaron Sorkin

Adapted Screenplay

The Dig – Moira Buffini
The Father – Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller
The Mauritanian – Rory Haines, Sohrab Noshirvani, MB Traven
Nomadland – Chloé Zhao
The White Tiger – Ramin Bahrani

Leading Actress

Bukky Bakray – Rocks
Radha Blank – The Forty-Year-Old Version
Vanessa Kirby – Pieces Of A Woman
Frances McDormand – Nomadland
Wunmi Mosaku – His House
Alfre Woodard – Clemency

Leading Actor

Riz Ahmed – Sound Of Metal
Chadwick BosemanMa Rainey’s Black Bottom
Adarsh Gourav – The White Tiger
Anthony Hopkins – The Father
Mads Mikkelsen – Another Round
Tahar Rahim – The Mauritanian

Supporting Actress

Niamh Algar – Calm With Horses
Kosar Ali – Rocks
Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Dominique Fishback – Judas And The Black Messiah
Ashley Madekwe – County Lines
Yuh-Jung Youn – Minari

Supporting Actor

Daniel Kaluuya – Judas And The Black Messiah
Barry Keoghan – Calm With Horses
Alan Kim – Minari
Leslie Odom Jr – One Night In Miami…
Clarke Peters – Da 5 Bloods
Paul Raci – Sound Of Metal

Original Score

Mank – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross
Minari – Emile Mosseri
News Of The World – James Newton Howard
Promising Young Woman – Anthony Willis
Soul – Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross


Calm With Horses – Shaheen Baig
Judas And The Black Messiah – Alexa L Fogel
Minari – Julia Kim
Promising Young Woman – Lindsay Graham Ahanonu, Mary Vernieu
Rocks – Lucy Pardee


Judas And The Black Messiah – Sean Bobbitt
Mank – Erik Messerschmidt
The Mauritanian – Alwin H Kuchler
News Of The World – Dariusz Wolski
Nomadland – Joshua James Richards


The Father – Yorgos Lamprinos
Nomadland – Chloe Zhao
Promising Young Woman – Frederic Thoraval
Sound Of Metal – Mikkel EG Nielsen
The Trial Of The Chicago 7 – Alan Baumgarten

Production Design

The Dig – Maria Djurkovic, Tatiana Macdonald
The Father – Peter Francis, Cathy Featherstone
Mank – Donald Graham Burt, Jan Pascale
News Of The World – David Crank, Elizabeth Keenan
Rebecca – Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer

Costume Design

Ammonite – Michael O’connor
The Dig – Alice Babidge
Emma – Alexandra Byrne
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Ann Roth
Mank – Trish Summerville

Make Up and Hair

The Dig – Jenny Shircore
Hillbilly Elegy – Patricia Dehaney, Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Matiki Anoff, Larry M Cherry, Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal
Mank – Kimberley Spiteri, Gigi Williams
Pinocchio – Mark Coulier


News Of The World – Michael Fentum, William Miller, Mike Prestwood Smith, John Pritchett, Oliver Tarney
Nomadland – Sergio Diaz, Zach Seivers, M. Wolf Snyder
Soul – Coya Elliott, Ren Klyce, David Parker
Sound Of Metal – Jaime Baksht, Nicolas Becker, Phillip Bladh, Carlos Cortés, Michelle Couttolenc

Special Visual Effects

Greyhound – Pete Bebb, Nathan Mcguinness, Sebastian Von Overheidt
The Midnight Sky Matt Kasmir – Chris Lawrence, David Watkins
Mulan – Sean Faden, Steve Ingram, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury
The One And Only Ivan – Santiago Colomo Martinez, Nick Davis, Greg Fisher
Tenet – Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson, Andrew Lockley

EE Rising Star Award

Bukky Bakray
Kingsley Ben-Adir
Morfydd Clark
Sope Dirisu

:: Subscribe to the Backstage podcast on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, Spreaker

British Short Animation

The Fire Next Time – Renaldho Pelle, Yanling Wang, Kerry Jade Kolbe
The Owl And The Pussycat – Mole Hill, Laura Duncalf
The Song Of A Lost Boy – Daniel Quirke, Jamie MacDonald, Brid Arnstein

This year’s BAFTA ceremony will be broadcast virtually from London’s Royal Albert Hall across the weekend of 10 and 11 April.

(c) Sky News 2021: BAFTA Film Awards 2021: The full list of nominations


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here